Guilty Pleasures

Two things stick in my mind from when I first went on maternity leave; (1) everyone told me to rest… lots… as it would be my last chance and (2) after 2 days of daytime TV I resolved that I would be as active as possible to avoid it numbing my mind completely.

Two things are most prominent in my life now; (1) I’m permanently tired and (2) when my baby girl does sleep, I veg in front of daytime TV!!

I’m not sure which was the chicken and which was the egg, but having caved into spousal pressure some weeks ago and re-investing in Sky TV (including upgrading to HD!!) I am now addicted to E! (no, not the party drug, the Entertainment channel).

Fashion Police, Kimora, Holly’s World, Keeping up with the Kardashians and Kendra… my God! Kendra – she’s my main guilty pleasure.

Who’d have thought an intelligent, overweight, 30-something, brunette from the North end of the UK could relate to Hugh Heffners ex?! But I totally do… the series they are repeating at the moment is the one where Baby Hank is a few months old and Kendra is going through all of the highs and lows that the rest of us first time mums do. Albeit she has a nanny to help and the money to fly to Vegas for a weekend off. Still, I get it. I totally do.

You can imagine how excited I am to see the new series starting this Sunday. A chance to see how my life will turn out when my baby gets a bit older like Baby Hank. Really??? you say… NO! But I am excited. What can I say, I’m addicted to the show now and I think I’ll still get it for a little while yet – probably until I go back to work.

Back to work – what a thought 😦 ugh! dreading it. I foresee major separation anxiety and paranoia about whether my brain works again. Even pre-Kendra, I’m sure I lost a bit of my brain when I gave birth. Now post-Kendra… well, I’ll leave that to your imagination…

So there you have it – confession of a first time mum, on maternity leave in the cold rainy North of England (yes, the weather is just an excuse and no, I’m not convinced either that I wouldn’t do it if it were summertime). My guilty pleasure. Roll on Sunday… Go Kendra! Go Kendra! You’re not alone now….

Leave a Reply

