The Green Green Grass

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about work/life balance (again!). The outcome of my ruminations, mostly, seem to be that I need less (or no) work and more life. I watched Revolutionary Road over the weekend and it struck me that the main character in that story was seeking the exact opposite.

So is it a case of the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence? Or, is it that what we need to do is follow the advice of many psychologists and learn to be happy with what we have? What is it that keeps us wanting more?

I read a quote once that said something about loving what you do and you’ll never work a day in your life. I don’t love what I do. I know of only 2 of my friends who do love their jobs. The rest of us do it to pay the bills and support the lifestyle that we want to live… Well, sort of. I’m sure that there’s a negative impact on that lifestyle from the burden of the jobs that grind us down.

Maybe I need a change of career. I’m looking for flexible working hours, preferably working from home/anywhere I happen to be. A job that’s interesting and varied and presents the oportunity for creativity, a daily sense if achievement, not too much stress and a good dose of smiling and laughter.

Anyone got any suggestions? Oh, and if it paid enough to allow me to live in a nice warm place near a beach that would be a bonus!

Leave a Reply

