Happy Birthday

It seems I share my birthday with many people from various walks of life; Jamie Murray, Peter Gabriel, Peter Hook, Kim Novak, George Segal, Mena Suvari, Rizzo from Grease!!!! and of course the inimitable Mr. Robbie Williams. Oh wait, they’re all mostly from film and music. Well there’s, more. Honest. Check out Wikipedia.

I came across the old Wednesday’s Child poem and after some quick maths (well an internet calculator) worked out that I was one of them (as is Mr. Williams). Full of woe, apparently. Haha, that explains a lot! Maybe that’s why I had to force myself to be positive for the entire month of December last year? Now, if they’d said Wednesday’s child is clumsy as hell, I would be nodding like the proverbial dog. (For example I’ve just taken a sip of diet coke from an almost empty can and managed to pour the whole lot down my cheeks and onto my knees!).

I suppose I can take refuge in the fact that I’m not a Thursday’s child – Far to go – like Jamie Murray. But then given he’s a Wimbledon winner, I’m thinking I should take more refuge in the fact that it’s a clearly a load of poppycock!

So every year for as long as I can remember, and probably for longer back than that, I have gotten uber-excited about my birthday. Because I get presents? Yes. Because I’m now definitely older than I was last year? When I was a teenager, maybe. Now… not so much. Because for the whole day people treat me like I’m special? (hey, I know what youre thinking!  not in that way!) Yes. Probably.

Do I not feel special every day? Not particularly. Would I want to feel special every day? I’m not sure. If you felt that way every day wouldn’t it become the norm and no longer be special?

Whilst you ruminate on that last question, I’ll be (hopefully) unwrapping gifts, blowing out candles and generally lapping up all that extra love and attention! (not that I’m unloved or neglected on any given non-birthday day… but you do get more on your “special” day, dont you?!).

As John Lennon said, “Another year over, a new one just begun…” No wait, wasn’t that the last blog? Oops! Bubbles going to my head! If it’s your birthday today too – Happy Birthday To You! 🙂

One thought on “Happy Birthday

  1. Pingback: Another year has gone by, and what have I learned? | foreverstartingyoga

Leave a Reply

