That Christmas Feeling is here… Pass it on!

This blog is inspired by my friend who I’m forever starting yoga with… She told me something last night that made me feel amazing. So I’m passing it on 🙂

A couple of weeks ago, I blogged about losing my Christmas feeling. Well, not lose it so much as it not turning up as far in advance of the big day as it used to. Well, guess what? My Christmas feeling has arrived! Literally just showed up 5 minutes ago.

I’ve spent this weekend with my Sister, her friends and the girls in my family, celebrating her upcoming nuptials. I’ve been part of the organising committee for the weekend event and am very happy to report it was a resounding success!

There’s been all sorts of silly games and dressing up. The entire city joined in this morning when they put on their Santa suits and ran 5k for charity or for fun. (The “Santa Dash” is an annual event in Liverpool where thousands of Santa’s run through the tunnel under the River Mersey and back again).

It’s not over yet, though, we still have one last surprise later today which involves the whole family (boys included). And I think my Sister will love it! As will I. We’re both pretty family-centric and we treasure every minute we all get to spend together. Which is sometimes not as often or as much as we’d like. And, just so you know, I count my close friends as family also.

So, I don’t know if Christmas has arrived because the organising committee has been disbanded and it sensed I now had room for it in my life. Or whether the Sea of Santa’s I had to swim through this morning brought it on. Or indeed getting to spend time with my family has refocused my mind on what’s important and gotten me excited about us all getting together again in a few weeks.

Probably a little bit of the first two and a lot of the last one. After all Christmas us about love… and a little bit about pressies under the tree. But really it’s about love and family and friends. It’s about reminding ourselves that we’re not in this life alone and we need to appreciate those we have in our lives, walking the path with us.

So, look around you, and the next person you see who is part of your life… wife, brother, mother, pal, whoever… Give them a big hug, tell them you love them and tell them how glad you are that they are on the path of life with you! I guarantee that short 10 seconds will leave you both feeling amazing!

I’d personally like to say to my friend, I love you and I am so happy to have you in my life.

And these sentiments should not just be saved for Christmas. Go spread the love. Spread the joy of Christmas!

3 thoughts on “That Christmas Feeling is here… Pass it on!

  1. That’s left a lump in my throat and some very damp eyes! I’ve not felt very Christmassy this year yet, but think you might have helped me realise that it’s not something to wait on, it’s something to make yourself feel by just spreading the cheer that this time of year brings. So, Happy Holidays (yes, I know that’s the American way of saying it), I need to go and get some Christmas tunes on now! x

Leave a Reply

