I'm going to start blogging…

Well, it’s been nearly 2 weeks since my last blog. Wow! Isn’t it a pain in the ass when life gets in the way?!

I’d like to be able to say that something major had happened – like, I’d been kidnapped by aliens and only just got back from Mars – but I can’t. Truth is work got really busy and I let it take over my life. I’m sure I’m not alone – how many times a year do women’s lifestyle magazines run an article on the elusive work/life balance? And to be fair, I’m sure a lot of men out there feel the same way. Though, I don’t read men’s lifestyle magazines, so I’m not sure whether it’s a hot topic in those publications.

You know, I was really enjoying blogging and for the first week of my “absence”, I really thought This blogging lark is hard! You have to keep on top of it all the time! For the second week, I didn’t even think about blogging. Until yesterday…

We had a very lazy morning yesterday (French coffee and croissants in bed) and then spent the afternoon with friends drinking tea and eating cake. I was lucky enough to have dinner cooked for me and then I spent the evening watching my favourite TV show of all time, whilst drinking a really nice glass of red wine.

And I realised, it wasn’t the blogging that was difficult. It was making “me time” that was hard. I love blogging! And during my first week in blog-land, none of it was a chore, every second was exciting. I couldn’t wait to get home and write something down, share my thoughts with the world wide web. I was always thinking about it and constantly scribbling down ideas when they came into my head. I was consciously making “me time” and it was easy. So, what was different about the 2nd and 3rd week? In all honesty? I’m not sure.

I admit I’ve not always been the most motivated person on the planet. Always well intentioned but not always a “completer-finisher”. You’d need both hands and a foot to count the number of times my good friend and I have “started” Yoga classes (and subsequently given up about 2 or 3 weeks later) yet I love Yoga too!

Maybe it’s priorities, maybe it’s society, maybe it’s just me… but, (and this probably won’t be the only time I say this) I’m going to start blogging again! Wish me luck… 🙂

Leave a Reply

