Theme Shmeem!

Theme Shmeem!
So, I’ve been thinking about a theme for my blog. I won’t pretend that I’ve just started thinking about it today… I’ve been thinking about it for a while.
I’ve looked at lots of other blogs to see what people blog about. I looked at “mommy blogs” but I’m not a mommy (unless you count my cat, who I talk about like he is my child when conversing with my mommy friends – and, come to think of it, everyone else I converse with, in all honesty). I thought about writing a blog about sex and relationships, but I’m no expert in that either. I could write an experiential blog, but my teens seem so far away now and I’m not sure I’m brave enough, yet, to re-visit my twenties online (or indeed that I could revisit them even if I wanted to, due to a few – not entirely unsurprising – memory black spots! Come on, admit it – we all have them!).
I checked out problogger.net and read “How to Choose a Niche Topic for your Blog” (very helpful series, by the way). It mentioned a guy who, having had little success in blogging about gadgets, turned his attention to lawnmowers and now has a massive following. (The lawnmower guy wasn’t the focus of the article.) But I’m not very green fingered nor have I any clue when it comes to power tools!
And then I had an odd thought… do I want a gazillion readers? do I need a theme? My life hasn’t really had a theme. I suppose unless you always wanted to be a surgeon or an air force pilot or a movie star and you became one, most other people’s lives haven’t really followed a particular theme either. So, should I throw out the advice to find a niche subject, the “next big thing”? Maybe not, but then again, maybe I shouldn’t put too much pressure on myself and allow this blog thing to grow organically. I spend my whole day planning… and the one thing I do want to achieve with my blog is some creativity (if I have any?!). So, I say Theme… Shmeem! Let’s play it by ear (or keypad…) for a while.

So, I’ve been thinking about a theme for my blog. I won’t pretend that I’ve just started thinking about it today… I’ve been thinking about it for a while.

I’ve looked at lots of other blogs to see what people blog about. I looked at “mommy blogs” but I’m not a mommy (unless you count my cat, who I talk about like he is my child when conversing with my mommy friends – and, come to think of it, everyone else I converse with, in all honesty). I thought about writing a blog about sex and relationships, but I’m no expert in that either. I could write an experiential blog, but my teens seem so far away now and I’m not sure I’m brave enough, yet, to re-visit my twenties online (or indeed that I could revisit them even if I wanted to, due to a few – not entirely unsurprising – memory black spots! Come on, admit it – we all have them!).

I checked out problogger.net and read “How to Choose a Niche Topic for your Blog” (very helpful series, by the way). It mentioned a guy who, having had little success in blogging about gadgets, turned his attention to lawnmowers and now has a massive following. (The lawnmower guy wasn’t the focus of the article.) But I’m not very green fingered nor have I any clue when it comes to power tools!

And then I had an odd thought… do I want a gazillion readers? do I need a theme? My life hasn’t really had a theme. I suppose unless you always wanted to be a surgeon or an air force pilot or a movie star and you became one, most other people’s lives haven’t really followed a particular theme either. So, should I throw out the advice to find a niche subject, the “next big thing”? Maybe not, but then again, maybe I shouldn’t put too much pressure on myself and allow this blog thing to grow organically. I spend my whole day planning… and the one thing I do want to achieve with my blog is some creativity (if I have any?!). So, I say Theme… Shmeem! Let’s play it by ear (or keypad…) for a while.

Leave a Reply

